Uhm, yum.

So being a wife is a funny thing. You spend your whole life being mostly taken care of (when you’re young) or taking care of yourself.
Then, you get hitched and suddenly you have to make dinners every night and clean the house and sew clothes and churn butter!
(Okay, maybe I’m exaggerating a little bit).

But still, you gotta do more stuff.

When I was single, I could eat an apple with peanut butter for dinner and then just graze and peck for the rest of the night.

My husband, however, is more of the carnivorous variety that likes solid, hearty, and seemingly HUGE meals.
(Actually, he probably just eats like any other normal human would, unlike me).

SO, in order to embrace my wifehood and satisfy the ol’ hunger pains, I’ve ventured into more cooking and creating.
And I’m loving it!
I’ve boughten more chicken, cooked more bacon, and eaten more delicious meals in the last couple months than ever before!

My current favorite little kitchen tool is the CROCKPOT. Can you say genius? You can just stick something in there in the morning, and then by dinner it’s delicious.

Therefore, in order to satisfy the recipe requests from readers (actually, it was just my mother-in-law) and to keep this little bloggy lively, I thought I’d share some winner recipes now and again. So without further ado, I give you:

Asian Chicken & Veggies on Rice

Image 8

This was probably the easiest thing ever, and it was ridiculously delicious. I adapted a recipe from Cleverly Inspired and just kinda made it up on my own. So, here ya go:

Add 4-5 chicken breasts to a crock pot. Season with salt & pepper.
In a small bowl, mix 1/3c. Ketchup with 1/3c. Soy Sauce (low sodium) with 1/4c. Honey.
Add 1/4c. Olive Oil into the sauce.
Add 1Tbsp Ginger with 1Tbsp Red Pepper flakes to sauce.
Finely chop 2 garlic cloves and 1/4c. green onion and stir into the sauce.
Pour sauce over chicken and cook for 4-6 hours on low.

Before dinner, you can stir fry some veggies (I used yellow bell peppers, celery and green beans) in a frying pan with about 1/4.c of the sauce (just scoop some out of the crock pot). Cook till sauce reduces and veggies are tender.
Then, plate it up by scooping it over brown rice (which I made in a rice-maker about 30 min. before dinner).
Garnish with some more green onion.

Like I said, ridiculously easy.
And, my husband was thoroughly impressed (and full!).

So go for it, crock-pot-away and have a delicious dinner!

4 thoughts on “Uhm, yum.

  1. I’m a new reader and just wanted to say that though this dish looks very tasty, I am suspicious that you use the qualifier “My husband was thoroughly impressed.” After all, it seems like your husband is incredibly easy to impress. You could probably put some chicken on top of a salad and he would think you we’re going to have a solid chance at winning on Iron Chef. I am guessing he is the type of guy who goes around praising every meal you make to all his friends. We in the industry call it “being in love”

  2. Hi Lauren;
    Atta girl, way to go!! Keep up your good work.You never know what you’re capable of,’till you get challenged!
    You know you’re an excellent cook when the plates are cleaned up at the dinner table!! Yeah, give me some more…..

    Love you’all

Leave a comment