The Pitiful Pitfall…

The pitiful pitfall… otherwise known as Amazon Wish Lists

I’m not sure if you’ve ever shopped online, but let me tell you – online shopping is dangerous. Not only can you find the most randomly obscure object that you never knew existed (but somehow always knew you needed), but you can also have “1-click” purchasing and thereby commit to spending over $40 on some random item that you never planned on buying in one single second (My Amazon Purchase History is embarrassing…).

Anyway, I bring this up only because of a recent hilarious phenomenon occurring for us lately:
The Amazon Wishlist

Amazon (the great mogul of all online purchasing) has created a feature entitled “Wish Lists”. Basically, you can search for all the things you could ever want (and never afford) and simply click “Add to My Wishlist” instead of the “Add to My Cart” option. Then you have a brilliantly composed page full of all the things you want, available for all your rich benefactors to see and buy for you! Now I know this feature isn’t new, but it’s knew to us. I had heard of these Amazon Wish Lists before, but I have never myself made one.

This Christmas though, everything changed… I made a Wish-List.
(Well, I guess Luke and I both made a Wish-List…)
We entitled it: Luke & Lauren’s Crazy-Unlikely-But-Hey-Why-Not Christmas Wish List!

Essentially, we just started searching for all the ridiculous things we want, but could never afford… i.e. Adobe Photoshop (for only *cough* $642 *cough* heh…) and a Zildjian 18-Inch Crash Symbol (for only… *cough* $239 *cough*), and about a billion other items like that.

Anyway, you get the point. We don’t need half the stuff on our list. And more importantly, no one asked us to make a Wish List! Therefore, we’re definitely not getting anything on it.
So… yeah…
I’m not sad.
Really.
Well, mostly not sad.
I just need to come to terms with reality (which is why I’m writing this post).

Basically, Amazon Wish Lists are incredibly dangerous and fiendish pitfalls because of 3 main reasons:
1. It’s All About Me, Me, Me – A Wish List causes a hyper-focus on myself and what I want (and since I can compile everything in one easy webpage, I actually start thinking MORE about what I want!) Don’t we spend enough time doing this anyway? Why do I need to start coveting more things?

2. Noncommittal Commitment – Clicking “Add to My Wishlist” is a very noncommittal way of committing. For some reason, once the $112 Sorel Women’s Snow Boots entered my Wish-List, I suddenly felt far more connected to them. By golly, it’s cold and snowy here in Kansas City! Those Sorel boots are the best brand out there, and the color I picked is so cute, and man I just HAVE to get them!

3. The Possibilities are Endless – Once we start adding things to that list, it never ends. There will also be one more thing to add. Our Wish List currently has 24 things added to it, and I’m still finding more things to add! Although the possibilities are endless, the longer the list gets the more endlessly impossible it becomes.

So unless someone has specifically asked you to make that Wish List and actually has the money to purchase those items, steer away from that button.
Just take a deep breath.
Look around you.
And just tell your little heart “I have everything I need”.

wish-list

*Special disclaimer – I know, I know… not all online buying is bad. I have purchased some wonderfully cheap books and products online. I’m not saying don’t buy online, just buy responsibly. Make sure to ask someone you trust before you hit the “purchase” button (wish I had this advice when I bought the Everlast For Her Slimmer Belt).

** Second Special Disclaimer, if the sudden urge arises in you to purchase us something special for Christmas, we’ve compiled a very helpful (and completely unrelated) little list right here. 😉

One thought on “The Pitiful Pitfall…

Leave a Reply

