Uhm, Yum. (ver. 2.0)

Well, it’s time for another episode of Cooking with the Millers (and by ‘Millers’, I mean me). 😉

I have stumbled across a really good and easy crock pot recipe – and this time it has some italian flair!
My SIL (sister-in-law, for those of you who aren’t acronym savvy) is awesome at finding deals and saving money. Just recently she happened upon a large amount of grape tomatoes (at the local Market on the Move). She kindly offered me a pack, and I accepted (pondering how I could use those babies for something other than salad toppers).

SO, with a little research and some of my own Food Network knowledge, I set about on creating the recipe for Chicken Pasta with Tomatoes and Squash

To make, you’ll need:
1 zucchini squash
1 yellow squash
1 cup grape tomatoes
6 cloves garlic
1/3c. onion
1/4 c. fresh basil leaves
3-4 chicken breasts
italian seasoning, salt & pepper
olive oil
1-2 tsp. corn starch
1 bag/box of your preferred pasta noodles
italian cheese

DSC_0007 DSC_0009 DSC_0011 DSC_0014 DSC_0020 DSC_0025 DSC_0032 DSC_0033 DSC_0037 DSC_0042 DSC_0044 DSC_0054 DSC_0055 DSC_0058

To make this meal, I chopped up the the veggies (tomatoes, squash, onions, garlic, and basil) the night before and let them sit covered in the fridge for the night (so it was easier to throw together the next morning). Coat with salt, pepper and italian seasonings.

Next morning, I put about 1 tbsp. of olive oil in a frying pan and seared the veggie mixture on high for a couple minutes (just to brown the onions and garlic).
Toss the veggie mixture into the crockpot.
Then, I browned the chicken in the same pan (just so both sides are lightly browned). It helps to seal in the flavor. Then, toss into the crockpot with the veggies. Add some salt and pepper to the chicken while searing.
*Note, you don’t HAVE to brown the veggies or chicken. I just thought it would enhance the flavor a bit. You can also just toss in the crockpot.
Turn on the ol’ pot on low for about 8-10 hours. The chicken will cook and get moist and tender, while the veggies cook down to make a great sauce.
When you come back after a long day of work or what have you, boil a pot of your favorite noodles (I picked some penne pasta from TJs, but any kind will do!).
To your crockpot sauce, add about 1 tbs. of cornstarch to thicken the sauce. Once again, you don’t HAVE to do this. I just like a thicker sauce.
Taste test and add seasonings as needed (a little extra italian herbs and pepper is great).

Plate by putting a bed of noodles, topped with a piece of chicken and sauce. I also chopped up a fresh roma tomato and put on top.
I also added some italian cheese.
(I would have loved to add some fresh spinach, but alas I had none – much to my husband’s joy).

And, wah-la! Delicious and easy.
Luke wholeheartedly enjoyed it and gave it the thumbs up of approval.
(And for those who think having my own husband taste-test my recipes is biased, I say WHO CARES! What’s so wrong with a man loving his wife’s cooking, eh?). 🙂

Give this recipe a try, and let me know if you like it!

3 thoughts on “Uhm, Yum. (ver. 2.0)

Leave a Reply

