In Sickness and In Health

Well it’s been a crazy couple days for us little Millers. The old stomach flu came knocking at our door Sunday night and wiped us out.
I, fortunately, was not hit as hard as Luke.
Luke, however, tossed his cookies multiple times all night, was running a fever that was all over the place (95-100s), couldn’t drink anything but water, barely could stomach medicine, passed out for a minute (I of course, called 911, thinking he was dying), and then finally came to and was able to sleep a bit.
By the time Tuesday morning came (and neither of us had thrown up during the last 6 hours), I knew we were going to make it.

The stomach flu is one of my least favorite sicknesses (not that I have a favorite). But, watching someone you love go through it is about ten times worse.
There was a point during the night when I started thinking about our wedding vows… In sickness and in health, till death do us part.
I made a vow almost 4 months ago to love, serve and take care of Luke no matter what came our way.
And even though the flu is not that big of a deal, it felt like one (especially when he passed out and I thought he was dying).
That vow & promise is the glory of marriage. When we’re not easy to love… when we’re messy and broken… When we’re sick or sad… Our commitment and covenant is what makes our love strong (not the other way around).
Anyway, needless to say, it was a powerful few days for me. Hah.

Unfortunately, no fun pictures to accompany this post (you don’t need to see us throwing up and in our pjs).

However, I leave thee with a quote from John Piper as he is reflecting on his forty years of matrimony, which I think sums up some of my thoughts.
Piper explains:
“Most foundationally, marriage is the doing of God. And ultimately, marriage is the display of God. It displays the covenant-keeping love between Christ and his people to the world in a way that no other event or institution does. Marriage, therefore, is not mainly about being in love. It’s mainly about telling the truth with our lives. And staying married is not about staying in love. It is about keeping covenant and putting the glory of Christ’s covenant-keeping love on display.

‘If you are married, this is why,’ says John Piper. ‘If you hope to be, this should be your dream.'”

2 thoughts on “In Sickness and In Health

  1. I think ol’ John Piper needs to lighten up. Geez. What’s so bad about being in love? It’s workin’ for me. Granted, I’m only talking 32 years.

    And FYI, the patriarchal Millers had the same flu this week. Sharin’ the love. Ha!

  2. Question. When will you be posting the Wedding EP online? I know it’s unrelated to this post, but it was on my mind. And neither of you use facebook.

    Thanks!

Leave a Reply

